Independent Garment Sewing Pattern Resources

 

Whether interested in trendy designs, historic clothing, art-to-wear, classic designs, sportswear, ethnic designs,
or clothing for a specific fitting problem there is a wide selection of independent pattern designers and companies
that go WAY beyond, the BIG FOUR pattern companies (Vogue, Butterick, Simplicity, McCalls).
Believe it or not, this is not a comprehensive list but just a good sampling. 

 

Akasha – Andrea Steelle                                       www.akashaclothing.com

Alternatives - Shirley Adams                                www.sewingconnection.com       

Birch Street Clothing                                            www.birchstreetclothing.com

Brown Paper Patterns - Barbara Allen              www.brownpaperpatterns.com/

Batik Butik                                                               www.batikbutik.com

Christine Jonson Patterns                                  www.cjpatterns.com/

Classics, The – Cecelia Podolak                         www.ceceliapodolak.com

CNT Pattern Co.                                                     www.cntpattern.com
Cutting Line Designs
– Louise Cutting              www.fabriccollections.com

Decades of Style                                                    www.decadesofstyle.com/

Design & Planning Concepts-

         Nancy Mirman                                                  www.designandplanningconcepts.com/

Design & Sew – Lois Ericson                               www.designandsew.com

Encore Designs – Debbie Walkowski                www.encoredesigns.com/

EvaDress                                                                  www.evadress.com/

Fashion Patterns by Coni Crawford                 www.fashionpatterns.com/

Fashion Sewing Group – Nancy Erickson         www.fashionsewing.com

Folkwear Patterns                                                  www.folkwear.com/

Great Copy                                                               www.greatcopy.com/

Green Pepper                                                          www.thegreenpepper.com

Hot Patterns                                                             www.hotpatterns.com

Indygo Junction                                                     www.indygojunctioninc.com/

Jalie                                                                           www.jalie.com/

June Colburn Designs                                         www.junecolburn.com/

Kayla Kennington                                                  www.kaylakennington.com/

Kimura Patterns                                                     www.kimurapatterns.com/

La Fred – Fred Bloebaum                                     www.lafred.com

Laughing Moon – JoAnn Peterson                     www.lafnmoon.com/

LJ Designs – Lyla Messenger                              www.ljdesignsonline.com/

Loes Hinse Design                                               www.loeshinsedesign.com

Lorraine Torrence (Grainline Gear)                   www.lorrainetorrence.com/

MacPhee Workshop - Linda MacPhee               www.macpheeworkshop.com

Marfy Patterns                                                      www.mccallpattern.com/marfy.htm
Park Bench Patterns
– Mary Lou Rankin          www.parkbenchpatterns.com/

Pavelka Design                                                      www.pavelkadesign.com

Petite Plus – Kathleen Cheetham                       www.petitepluspatterns.com

Dana Marie Design (formerly Purrfection) -  Dana Bontrager 
                                                                                   www.danamarie.com

Quilted Closet, The - Elaine Waldschmitt          www.thequiltedcloset.com

Rag Merchant – Jill Mead                                    www.rag-merchant.com

RDKC – Rachel Clark                                            www.rdkc.com

ReVisions  – Diane Ericson                                  www.dianeericson.com

Saf-T-Pockets – Marsha McClintock                  www.saf-t-pockets.com

Sewing Workshop – owned by Linda Lee        www.sewingworkshop.com

Silhouette Patterns – Peggy Sayers                   www.silhouettepatterns.com

Stretch and Sew – Ann Person                           www.gmidesign.com/stretch/home.html

Textile Studio Designs                                         www.textilestudiopatterns.com

Unique Patterns – Patterns custom drafted to measurements

                                                                                    www.uniquepatterns.com

 

There are also several smaller, traditional pattern companies or European pattern

companies whose designs are available either locally or on the web.

 

KwikSew (available at Hancock Fabrics)                      

New Look (available at Walmart & JoAnne’s?)

Burda (available at JoAnne’s Fabrics)

Neue Mode (available on the web)

 

 


One Stop Shopping Sources

Many on-line fabric stores carry a selection of independent patterns for one-stop shopping or browsing. These sites carry a wide range of independent patterns:

 

The Sewing Place                                       www.thesewingplace.com/

Waechter's Silk Shop                                  www.fabricsandbuttons.com

 

Or, ask your local independent fabric or quilt shop if they can order these patterns for you and support your local retailers.

 

 

Patttern Reveiws

Before trying a new pattern, you may want to see if there is any information about how that particular pattern sews up, fits, etc.  Pattern Review has hundreds, maybe thousands of reviews from fellow sewers on patterns and many other sewing related items.

www.patternreview.com/